Skip to product information
1 of 1

Scholastic Press

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Book One): Volume 1

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Book One): Volume 1

Regular price $14.99 USD
Regular price $14.99 USD Sale price $14.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
The first novel in the worldwide bestselling series by Suzanne Collins

Winning means fame and fortune. Losing means certain death. The Hunger Games have begun. . . . In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister's place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Author: Suzanne Collins
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Published: 07/03/2010
Pages: 384
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.70lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.25w x 0.75d
ISBN: 9780439023528
Age Range: 12-17

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.3
Point Value: 15
Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus
Quiz #/Name: 123740 / Hunger Games

Award: Black-Eyed Susan Award - Winner

Review Citation(s):
People Weekly 02/21/2011 pg. 51
Entertainment Weekly 04/01/2011 pg. 18
People Weekly 04/04/2011 pg. 44
New Yorker (The) 06/15/2010 pg. 132
New York Times Book Review 07/25/2010 pg. 20
Entertainment Weekly 12/10/2010 pg. 77
People Weekly 03/05/2012 pg. 58
Asimov's Science Fiction 09/01/2012 pg. 107
Entertainment Weekly 10/16/2015 pg. 113

About the Author
Suzanne Collins is the author of the bestselling Underland Chronicles series, which started with Gregor the Overlander. Her groundbreaking young adult novels, The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay, were New York Times bestsellers, received wide praise, and were the basis for four popular films. She returned to the world of Panem with The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes. Year of the Jungle, her picture book based on the year her father was deployed in Vietnam, was published in 2013 to great critical acclaim. To date, her books have been published in fifty-three languages around the world.

View full details