Skip to product information
1 of 1

Atria Books

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

Regular price $17.09 USD
Regular price $17.99 USD Sale price $17.09 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL, AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER

"As exciting as any spy novel" (Daily News, New York), The Princess Spy follows the hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS's most daring World War II spies before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Girls.

When Aline Griffith was born in a quiet suburban New York hamlet, no one had any idea that she would go on to live "a life of glamour and danger that Ingrid Bergman only played at in Notorious" (Time). As the United States enters the Second World War, the young college graduate is desperate to aid in the war effort, but no one is interested in a bright-eyed young woman whose only career experience is modeling clothes.

Aline's life changes when, at a dinner party, she meets a man named Frank Ryan and reveals how desperately she wants to do her part for her country. Within a few weeks, he helps her join the Office of Strategic Services--forerunner of the CIA. With a code name and expert training under her belt, she is sent to Spain to be a coder, but is soon given the additional assignment of infiltrating the upper echelons of society, mingling with high-ranking officials, diplomats, and titled Europeans. Against this glamorous backdrop of galas and dinner parties, she recruits sub-agents and engages in deep-cover espionage.

Even after marrying the Count of Romanones, one of the wealthiest men in Spain, Aline secretly continues her covert activities, being given special assignments when abroad that would benefit from her impeccable pedigree and social connections.

"[A] meticulously researched, beautifully crafted work of nonfiction that reads like a James Bond thriller" (Bookreporter), The Princess Spy brings to vivid life the dazzling adventures of a spirited American woman who risked everything to serve her country.

Author: Larry Loftis
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: 03/01/2022
Pages: 400
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.70lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.50w x 1.10d
ISBN: 9781982143879

About the Author
Larry Loftis is the New York Times and international bestselling author of the nonfiction spy thrillers, Code Name: Lise--The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy, and Into the Lion's Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov--World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond, which have been published in multiple languages around the world. Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Mr. Loftis was a corporate attorney and adjunct professor of law. He can be found on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and at LarryLoftis.com.

View full details