Skip to product information
1 of 1

Scholastic Press

The Raven Boys (the Raven Cycle, Book 1), 1

The Raven Boys (the Raven Cycle, Book 1), 1

Regular price $20.79 USD
Regular price $21.99 USD Sale price $20.79 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
An all-new series from the masterful, #1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can't entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn't believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she's not so sure anymore.

Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Published: 09/18/2012
Pages: 416
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.17lbs
Size: 8.49h x 5.76w x 1.38d
ISBN: 9780545424929
Age Range: 13-17

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.4
Point Value: 16
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 153173 / Raven Boys

Award: Nutmeg Book Award - Nominee
Award: Iowa High School Book Award - Nominee
Award: Georgia Peach Book Award for Teen Readers - Nominee
Award: Tayshas Reading - Commended
Award: Capitol Choices: Noteworthy Books for Children and Teens - Recommended
Award: Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award - Nominee
Award: Grand Canyon Reader Award - Recommended
Award: Volunteer State Book Awards - Nominee
Award: Colorado Blue Spruce Award - Nominee
Award: Rhode Island Teen Book Award - Nominee
Award: Sequoyah Book Awards - Nominee
Award: Sequoyah Book Awards - Nominee
Award: Evergreen Young Adult Book Award - Nominee
Award: Young Reader's Choice Award - Nominee
Award: Bram Stoker Awards - Nominee
Award: Florida Teens Read - Nominee

Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 07/30/2012 pg. 67
Kirkus Reviews 08/01/2012 pg. 1692
Booklist 08/01/2012 pg. 66
Romantic Times 09/01/2012 pg. 58 - Excellent
Kirkus Reviews Fall Preview 08/15/2012 pg. 44
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2012 - Book Of Special Distinction
Entertainment Weekly 09/28/2012 pg. 76
Shelf Awareness 09/28/2012
School Library Journal 10/01/2012 pg. 151
Publishers Weekly Best Books 11/05/2012 pg. 40
New York Times Book Review 11/11/2012 pg. 30
Kirkus Best Young-Adult Books 12/01/2012 pg. 81
SLJ's Best Books 12/01/2012 pg. 33
Horn Book Magazine 01/01/2013 pg. 91
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2013 pg. 119 - Recommended, Satisfactory

About the Author
Maggie Stiefvater is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the novels Shiver, Linger, Forever, and Sinner. Her novel The Scorpio Races was named a Michael L. Printz Honor Book by the American Library Association. The first book in The Raven Cycle, The Raven Boys, was a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year and the second book, The Dream Thieves, was an ALA Best Book for Young Adults. The third book, Blue Lily, Lily Blue, received five starred reviews. The final book, The Raven King, received four. She is also the author of All the Crooked Saints and Call Down the Hawk. She is also an artist and musician. She lives in Virginia with her husband and their two children. You can visit her online at

View full details