Skip to product information
1 of 1

Algonquin Young Readers

The Science of Being Angry

The Science of Being Angry

Regular price $16.94 USD
Regular price $16.94 USD Sale price $16.94 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

From the acclaimed author of Hurricane Season, an unforgettable story about what makes a family, for fans of Hazel's Theory of Evolution and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World.

Eleven-year-old Joey is angry. All the time. And she doesn't understand why. She has two loving moms, a supportive older half brother, and, as a triplet, she's never without company. Her life is good. But sometimes she loses her temper and lashes out, like the time she threw a soccer ball--hard--at a boy in gym class and bruised his collarbone. Or when jealousy made her push her (former) best friend (and crush), Layla, a little bit too roughly.

After a meltdown at Joey's apartment building leads to her family's eviction, Joey is desperate to figure out why she's so mad. A new unit in science class makes her wonder if the reason is genetics. Does she lose control because of something she inherited from the donor her mothers chose?

The Science of Being Angry is a heartwarming story about what makes a family and what makes us who we are from an author whose works are highly praised for their presentation of and insights into the emotional lives of tweens.


Author: Nicole Melleby
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Published: 05/10/2022
Pages: 288
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.84lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.60w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9781643750378
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2022
Publishers Weekly 03/28/2022
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2022
School Library Journal 05/01/2022 pg. 77
Horn Book Magazine 05/01/2022 pg. 150
Booklist 05/15/2022 pg. 47
View full details