Skip to product information
1 of 1

Blink

The Silence Between Us

The Silence Between Us

Regular price $10.43 USD
Regular price $10.98 USD Sale price $10.43 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020

Contemporary fiction fans will find it hard to put down The Silence Between Us--a YA novel that doesn't shy away from real-life issues including the challenges faced by those in the Deaf culture, relationship struggles, communication problems, and complicated families.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn't hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will derail her pursuits or cause her to question her own self worth.

The Silence Between Us:

  • Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture
  • Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais
  • Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell
  • Includes an interview with the author and a commentary on cochlear implants by Alison

"The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able." (NPR)

"Gervais deftly renders both the nuanced, everyday realities of life with disability and Maya's fierce pride in her Deafness, delivering a vibrant story that will resonate with Deaf and hearing audiences alike." - Booklist

"A solid addition to middle/high school fiction that allows for deep discussion about stereotypes concerning disabilities." School Library Journal

"This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read." (YA and Kids Book Central)



Author: Alison Gervais
Publisher: Blink
Published: 03/01/2022
Pages: 320
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.57lbs
Size: 8.38h x 5.59w x 0.78d
ISBN: 9780310766001
Age Range: 12-17

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 6.3
Point Value: 11
Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus
Quiz #/Name: 505327 / Silence Between Us
View full details