The Swallowtail Legacy 1: Wreck at Ada's Reef

The Swallowtail Legacy 1: Wreck at Ada's Reef

Regular price
$17.94
Sale price
$17.94
Regular price
$17.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A vibrant, moody contemporary mystery with a classic feel exploring righting past wrongs, redefining family, and finding yourself.

Twelve-year-old Lark Heron-Finch is steeling herself to spend the summer on Swallowtail Island off the shores of Lake Erie. It's the first time that she and her sister will have seen the old house since their mom passed away. And while her stepfather and his boys are okay, the island's always been full of happy memories--and now everything is different.

When Nadine, a close family friend, tells Lark about a tragic boat accident that happened off the coast many years before, Lark's enthralled with the story. Nadine's working on a book about Dinah Purdy, Swallowtails's oldest resident who had a connection to the crash, and she's sure that the accident was not as it appeared. Impressed by Lark's keen eye, she hires her as her research assistant for the summer.

And then Lark discovers something amazing. Something that could change Dinah's life. Something linked to the crash and even to her own family's history with Swallowtail. But there are others on the island who would do anything to keep the truth buried in the watery depths of the past.

A compelling and complex mystery with a classic feel, Wreck at Ada's Reef is perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance, Holes, The Westing Game, and anyone looking for a satisfying puzzle that stretches across decades.


Author: Michael D. Beil
Publisher: Pixel+ink
Published: 02/15/2022
Pages: 320
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.90lbs
Size: 8.19h x 5.59w x 1.26d
ISBN: 9781645950486
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2021
Publishers Weekly 01/31/2022
Shelf Awareness 02/04/2022
School Library Journal 03/01/2022 pg. 101

About the Author
Michael D. Beil is the author of the Edgar Allan Poe Award-nominated Red Blazer Girls series, as well as Summer at Forsaken Lake, Lantern Sam and the Blue Streak Bandits, and Agents of the Glass: A New Recruit. Beil spent his childhood with his nose firmly planted in a book and now teaches English.

He lives in Portugal with his wife, two dogs, and two cats. For more on the author and his books, visit him online at michaeldbeil.com.