We Set the Dark on Fire

We Set the Dark on Fire

Regular price
$10.94
Sale price
$10.94
Regular price
$10.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers." --NPR

"Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality." --Buzzfeed

Five starred reviews

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida C rdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio--and a chance at a forbidden love?



Author: Tehlor Kay Mejia
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Published: 01/14/2020
Pages: 400
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.64lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.30w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9780062691323
Age Range: 14-17

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 6.1
Point Value: 14
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 501045 / We Set the Dark on Fire