Skip to product information
1 of 1

Scholastic Press

Wildoak

Wildoak

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
When the fates of a snow leopard, a child, and an ancient forest collide, the unimaginable can happen. Perfect for fans of Pax and The One and Only Ivan.

* Harrington packs her memorably atmospheric debut with compelling issues, but her sharply felt portrayals of two vulnerable youngsters of different species bonding as they find their ways in hostile worlds will make the deepest impression. -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Both character arcs sparkle with life thanks to Harrington's poignant, immersive prose...nuanced and empowering." -- Publisher's Weekly, starred review

"Reads like a classic. I loved it!" -- Pam Muñoz Ryan, author of the bestsellers Esperanza Rising and the Newbery Honor book Echo

Wildoak makes us believe the world may well be as mysterious and as lovely and as possible as we had hoped. -- Gary D. Schmidt, author of Just Like That and the Newbery Honor book The Wednesday Wars

Maggie Stephens's stutter makes school especially hard. She will do almost anything to avoid speaking in class or calling attention to herself. So when her unsympathetic father threatens to send her away for so-called "treatment," she reluctantly agrees to her mother's intervention plan: a few weeks in the fresh air of Wildoak Forest, visiting a grandfather she hardly knows. It is there, in an extraordinary twist of fate, that she encounters an abandoned snow leopard cub, an exotic gift to a wealthy Londoner that proved too wild to domesticate. But once the cub's presence is discovered by others, danger follows, and Maggie soon realizes that time is running out, not only for the leopard, but for herself and the forest as well.

​Told in alternating voices, Wildoak shimmers with beauty, compassion, and unforgettable storytelling as it explores the delicate interconnectedness of the human, animal, and natural worlds.



Author: C. C. Harrington
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Published: 09/20/2022
Pages: 288
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.20lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.40w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9781338803860
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 07/15/2022
Publishers Weekly 08/08/2022
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2022
View full details