Skip to product information
1 of 1

HarperCollins

Wishing Upon the Same Stars

Wishing Upon the Same Stars

Regular price $16.98 USD
Regular price $16.98 USD Sale price $16.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This powerful and poignant coming-of-age middle grade debut novel follows an Arab American girl named Yasmeen as she moves to San Antonio with her family and navigates finding friendship--and herself. Perfect for fans of Other Words for Home, Front Desk, and American as Paneer Pie.

When twelve-year-old Yasmeen Khoury moves with her family to San Antonio, all she wants to do is fit in. But her classmates in Texas are nothing like her friends in the predominantly Arab neighborhood back in Detroit where she grew up. Almost immediately, Yasmeen feels like the odd girl out, and as she faces middle school mean girls and tries to make new friends, she feels more alone than ever before.

Then Yasmeen meets her neighbor, Ayelet Cohen, a first-generation Israeli American. As the two girls grow closer, Yasmeen is grateful to know someone who understands what it feels like when your parents' idea of home is half a world away.

But when Yasmeen's grandmother moves in after her home in Jerusalem is destroyed, Yasmeen and Ayelet must grapple with how much closer the events of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict are than they'd realized. As Yasmeen begins to develop her own understandings of home, heritage, and most importantly, herself, can the two girls learn there's more that brings them together than might tear them apart . . . and that peace begins with them?

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD GOLD STANDARD SELECTION!



Author: Jacquetta Nammar Feldman
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 02/01/2022
Pages: 368
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.50w x 1.50d
ISBN: 9780063034389
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.4
Point Value: 11
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 514139 / Wishing Upon the Same Stars


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 12/01/2021
School Library Journal 01/01/2022 pg. 69
Booklist 01/01/2022 pg. 76
View full details