World's Best Mother

World's Best Mother

Regular price
$16.94
Sale price
$16.94
Regular price
$16.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

World's Best Mother adds a uniquely European perspective to the literary canon on motherhood. Perfect for readers of Rachel Cusk's A Life's Work: On Becoming a Mother, Jenny Offill's Dept. of Speculation, and Sheila Heti's Motherhood.

"A slyly funny and strikingly astute meditation on love in all its guises by a self-proclaimed 'amateur mother.'" --JENNY OFFILL, bestselling author of Weather and Dept. of Speculation

A thirty-five-year-old writer decides she wants to have children. Rounds of IVF treatments and several years later, she has two daughters and sits down to write this book. World's Best Mother is a sublime journey--through pregnancy, the mothering of small children, marriage, an affair--which unfolds in a heady mix of anecdote, imagination, and social commentary. Clever and insightful, the narrator examines the myth, but also the scam, of motherhood, openly dialoguing with voices of the past that in one way or another have fueled her condition as a woman: from the legendary hominid Lucy--"the mother of humanity"--to Cinderella, passing through Plato, Mother Teresa, Darwin, Maupassant, and Simone de Beauvoir along the way. Humor, love, and horror converge in this lively auto-fictional battle between the intensity of child rearing and the writer trying to fight her way out.



Author: Nuria Labari
Publisher: World Editions
Published: 04/06/2021
Pages: 224
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.65lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.50w x 0.80d
ISBN: 9781642860726

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 02/15/2021

About the Author
Nuria Labari was born in Santander and is a writer and journalist. She has written for El Mundo, as well as Telecinco, where she was the editor in chief for web content. She is currently a frequent contributor to El País. Her short-story collection Los borrachos de mi vida ("The Drunkards in My Life") won the seventh Premio Narrativa de Caja de Madrid in 2009. In 2016 she published her first novel, Cosas que brillan cuando están rotas ("Things That Shine When Broken"). World's Best Mother is her latest work.