Skip to product information
1 of 1

Arcadia Publishing (SC)

Wright State University

Wright State University

Regular price $23.74 USD
Regular price $24.99 USD Sale price $23.74 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Out of stock

Plans to establish the first public institution of higher education in the Dayton region were laid in 1961. At the time, Dayton was the second largest metropolitan city in Ohio. The need for a public higher-education institution became critical as Dayton emerged as a center of high technology that needed an educated workforce. In 1962, many key business leaders throughout the community led a community-wide fundraising effort to secure the necessary seed money for the branch campus of Ohio State University and Miami University. In the fall of 1964, with the completion of Allyn Hall, the "campus within a building," the Dayton campus of Ohio State University and Miami University opened its doors to 3,203 enrolled students. It became an independent institution in 1967 and was named Wright State University to honor Dayton natives and aviation pioneers Orville and Wilbur Wright. Under the leadership of its sixth president, David Hopkins, Wright State University continued to expand its campus while building lasting relationships with the community.

Author: Rebekkah Mulholland
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing (SC)
Published: 02/13/2017
Pages: 128
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.70lbs
Size: 9.10h x 6.40w x 0.50d
ISBN: 9781467124850
View full details