Year of the Reaper

Year of the Reaper

Regular price
$17.94
Sale price
$17.94
Regular price
$17.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"I love the magic Lucier weaves through this dark yet hopeful tale. I devoured it in one sitting!"
--Kristin Cashore, author of the New York Times bestselling Graceling Realm books

"A beautifully crafted novel containing everything I love in an epic fantasy: complex characters and relationships, excellent world building, and a compelling story full of twists and turns."
--Juliet Marillier, author of the Blackthorn & Grim and Warrior Bards series

A rich and captivating YA standalone fantasy that's perfect for fans of Brigid Kemmerer, Rachel Hartman, and Naomi Novik, from the writer whose stories have been called "brilliant" (Booklist), "masterful" (Horn Book), and "breathtaking" (School Library Journal), comes a captivating new standalone fantasy. In the aftermath of a devastating plague, a young lord is determined to discover the truth behind a mysterious attempt to assassinate the young queen.

Three years ago, young Lord Cassia disappeared in the midst of war. Since then, a devastating illness has swept the land, leaving countless dead and a kingdom forever altered. Having survived war and plague, Cas, now eighteen, wants only to return to his home in the mountains and forget past horrors. But home is not what he remembers.

His castle has become a refuge for the royal court. And they have brought their enemies with them.

An assassin targets those closest to the queen, drawing Cas into a search for a killer. With the help of a historian-in-training named Lena, he soon realizes that who is behind the attacks is far less important than why. Cas and Lena must look to the past, following the trail of a terrible secret--one that could threaten the kingdom's newfound peace and plunge it back into war.

Author: Makiia Lucier
Publisher: Clarion Books
Published: 11/09/2021
Pages: 336
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.00lbs
Size: 8.35h x 5.67w x 1.26d
ISBN: 9780358272090
Age Range: 14-17

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 08/15/2021
School Library Journal 09/01/2021 pg. 98
Publishers Weekly 10/04/2021
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 11/01/2021
Booklist 11/24/2021
Horn Book Magazine 01/01/2022 pg. 114

About the Author
Makiia Lucier grew up on the Pacific island of Guam and holds degrees in journalism and library studies. She is the author of three previous books-A Death-Struck Year, Isle of Blood and Stone, and Song of the Abyss--which have appeared on many notable lists, including the Kids' Indie Next, the American Booksellers Association's Best Books for Children and the American Library Association's Best Fiction for Young Adults. She lives with her family in North Carolina. makiialucier.com, Twitter and Instagram: @makiialucier.